Prague hotels from a different point of view Part I

On Thursday and Friday I visited 16 different Prague Hotels. I chose the hotels mainly according to the location and star rating. Another factor that affected the selection was my own preference where I would like to stay in Prague, if I were a tourist. Third criterion was the fact that we often provide transportation to/from these hotels to the Prague airport and other cities. I wanted to present a list of hotels worth staying at. Finally I wanted to have personal experience with the hotels as a lot of my customers ask me for recommendation of Prague lodging.

View from the President Apartment at the Prague Royal Palace Hotel

View from the President Apartment at the Prague Royal Palace Hotel

I was going to judge the hotels by a few criteria and standards:
Look of the building, surrounding of the hotel, look of the lobby and wow effect when you enter the hotel, interior of the common areas of the hotel, size of standard room and deluxe room, hotel specialty (something you can not find commonly in other hotels), price range and extra services (e.g. room service 24/7, minibar, safe etc.).

As I started to visit the hotels I realized that the measure of quality should be based on much more important factors than price and size of the room. Thus I decided that I will write the whole experience and comparison in one story. The story will be divided into a few articles.

I chose only 4-star and 5-star hotels + couple of family-ran hotels that in fact could reach to 4-stars if they only had some of the amenities like restaurant. In my opinion the hotels do not need a restaurant, yet they lose the official rating and I find it important to present them among the Prague hotels I chose.

List of the hotels in order I visited:

Charles Bridge Palace Hotel
Emblem Hotel Prague
Old Town Square Hotel
Iron Gate Hotel and Suites
Thalia Hotel
Boutique Jalta Hotel
Design Yasmin Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
Christie Hotel
Icon Design Hotel
Best Western Royal Palace Prague
Charles Hotel
Amour residence
Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa
Dum U Velke Boty – The Big Shoe House
Aria Music Hotel

I missed hotel U Zeleneho Hroznu and Mandarin Oriental. I am going to visit them on Wednesday next week. I may also visit Appia Residence, Sax and the Constans hotel and if I have time, I will add some hotels in Nerudova street e.g. the Hotel Neruda, Golden Wheel and the Road Hotel.

Leave a Reply

